Ekadashamukha Avalokiteshvara (Eleven-headed)
  See it in the Museum
Orientation 2
Display 2

ABS 332

 Code: ABS 332

  Country: Tibet


  Date: 1100 - 1300

  Dimensions in cm WxHxD: 8.5 x 16.7 x 4

  Materials: Brass

Ekadasamukha is a form of Avalokiteshvara with eleven faces. He is the bodhisattva of compassion. The eleven faces are arranged in five tiers. In the Lotus Sutra, the epithet samantamukha ("he who sees in all directions") is attributed to Avalokiteshvara. This underlines the universality of the help that this bodhisattva bestows on all those who are seeking it. Avalokisteshvara is one of the most revered bodhisattva in Tibet. His mantra "Om Mani Padme Hum" is recited on all occasions. He is the patron deity of Tibet, and the Dalaï Lama is considered to be his reincarnation. 

Bodhisattvas have generated bodhicitta (mind of enlightenment), and vowedf to help all sentient beings until each and every one is free from suffering. Bodhisattvas can live incarnated in this world or dwell in a subtle body in the realm of sambogakaya, where they can be reached through meditation. Bodhisattvas are also named “the Buddhas lions”. Bodhisattvas put into practise the six basic paramitas (virtues): charity, morality, patience, effort, concentration and wisdom (dana, sila, ksanti, verya, dhyana and prajna) and the four paramitas which derive from the basic ones: skillfull means, vows, power and knowledge (upaya, pranidhana, bala and jnana). Among the many, there are eight great or divine bodhisattvas. In the Nispanna Yogavali of Mahapandita Abhayakara Gupta three sets of sixteen bodhisattvas are mentioned.